You’re Bugging Me

Recently I had a bad day.  A day filled with bugs.  We are scared to death of creepy-crawlies.  I was awakened by something crawling up my arm. I didn’t have my eyes fully open or my glasses on so I’m not sure but I think it was a spider. I brushed it off and went back to sleep, even though I was freaked out. I’m terrified of spiders.  (so much so that I was unable to post a photo of a real spider here) But since I didn’t actually see the spider, I thought perhaps I was dreaming, and so I wasn’t too terribly frightened. No, the fear would come later… like about an hour later, when the dog got up and left his bed, which rests at the foot of my bed on top of my cedar chest.  I just happened to see something move out of the corner of my eye, and when I focused on it, to my horror I found it was a giant tick, and it was crawling towards my feet. I screamed and got some tissue and flushed it down the toilet.  But before that happened, as I was grabbing the tick, that mysterious black bug which had awakened me earlier suddenly appeared again and ran down the bedspread and onto the floor.  I nearly had a heart attack.

For the next several hours, I hallucinated bugs. Everywhere. Crawling on the floor. Crawling on the ceiling. Crawling on me.  I was a basket case for the whole morning and afternoon. Kept jumping and crying out at spiders that weren’t really there. I was so freaked out, and honestly could not tell that the bugs were imaginary, and so I sat with my legs and feet pulled up in the chair; I wouldn’t let my feet touch the floor.  When I had to go to the bathroom, I literally ran there and back and tried to ignore the roaches I saw crawling on the walls. These hallucinations lasted for 2 days.  The tick was the trigger. Oooh.  I just got a chill up my spine thinking about that. Actually, just writing this post has made me very nervous and edgy…I feel like something’s crawling on my arm, and I’ve got my feet pulled up underneath me so they don’t touch the floor.

